Cheap and Quick DIY • Create your own Colourful Gel Eyeliners

Yesterday i was testing and playing around with some products.I wanted to make a bold look with some colourful eyeliners, but there was something missing…I had no liners with me, exception made for a black liner.
That’s when an idea came to my mind: Why don’t I create my own colorful liners?
I had a bunch of shadows and loose pigments, a liquid concealer and a concealer wheel that I was gifted in a store and that I never used.

sparkleoflight sparkle of light instagram blog diy eyeliner eyeliners revamp range do it yours pigments

This is my own “range”. I created them all with this technique and I’m super excited about them! It’s perfect for who is on a budget!

sparkleoflight sparkle of light instagram blog diy eyeliner eyeliners revamp zoom cream greend angled  aqua pigments

You can obtain any colour!

Look how gorgeous they are!

A look using this product will be up soon on my Instagram! Check me at www.instagram.com/sparkleoflight!

Seriously, for each colour I spent less two minutes and the products I’m using today are super cheap!
This is a great way to recycle things you don’t use! You can finally get the chance to use that bright shadow you bought and left aside to obtain a subtle pop of colour.

What do I essencially need?

We are going to work with avaiable items! You should have them at home.
– a Toothpick or, directly, a specific Angled Brush to work the products;

sparkleoflight sparkle of light instagram blog diy eyeliner eyeliners revamp cream green angled  aqua pigments

– a Palette, a paper/plastic Plate or any plain clean surface;

sparkleoflight sparkle of light instagram blog diy eyeliner eyeliners revamp cream green 2 angled  aqua pigments

This is a mini plastic plate, one of those that usually are used for paistries.

– some Shadows and/or Pigments;

sparkleoflight sparkle of light instagram blog diy eyeliner eyeliners revamp pigments
– a Pale or White Liquid Concealer;

sparkleoflight sparkle of light instagram blog diy eyeliner eyeliners revamp pigments essence concealer essence liquid jar wheel

My favourite liquid concealer ever! Gonna review this soon!

– a Concealer Wheel or Really Creamy Light Concealers;

sparkleoflight sparkle of light instagram blog diy eyeliner eyeliners revamp pigments essence concealer wheel

Yes. I broke it. It has been used quite a lot recently for the eyeliners. Don’t like this much as a concealer. This is from Essence.

 

Step 1: Choose the Colour

sparkleoflight sparkle of light instagram blog diy eyeliner eyeliners revamp cream green aqua pigments
Once you have in your mind the shade you want to wear, you can directly put your pigment on a plate.
If you don’t have a pigment or if you want to use a pressed eyeshadow, you just have to scratch the surface of the pressed eyeshadow and put the loose result on plain and clean surface to work on, like the plate I’m showing you above.
Please, pay attention to the surface and tools you use. No one wants eye infections. So, play safe and with clean items 😉

Step 2: Mix the Shadows

sparkleoflight sparkle of light instagram blog diy eyeliner eyeliners revamp cream greenf angled  aqua pigments

If you are working with 2 or 3 powders, mix them homogeneously, with the help of a toothpick or a brush.
Here I’m using a synthetic angled brush. Synthetic brushes are meant to work with creams and liquids, so it’s perfect for this!
If you are using only one product, then directly go to Step 3.

Step 3: Choose The Concealer from the Wheel

sparkleoflight sparkle of light instagram blog diy eyeliner eyeliners revamp cream pigments

In my wheel there are “only” three shades: a light neutral, a light pink and a light blue/green. There are other cheap or relatively cheap wheel concealers with more colours, like purple and green.As you can see from the above photo, my concealer wheel has been used a LOT recently.

Step 4: Pick the Concealer Shade and Start Mixing

sparkleoflight sparkle of light instagram blog diy eyeliner eyeliners revamp cream green angled step by step  aqua pigments

• To create Brown, Black, Grey or similar eyeliners, I use the neutral shade.
• To create Pink, Purple, Fucsia, Violet, Orange or Coral I use the pink shade.
• To create Blue, Green or similars, I use the light blue shade.
However, this Light Blue Shade is almost a cold white, so works well with almost everything.
To warm the colours, I add some of the neutral shade.
To make them colder, I add the pink or the blue. It depends from the shade I want to obtain.

Mix the concealer from the wheel and the powders. Don’t add too much of both, you can always add more later. The amount of concealer depends by how many powders you have, how much product you want to obtain and by how creamy you want it to be.
However, consider that the creamiest the eyeliner is and the easier will perform.
A dry eyeliner won’t do the job.
Back to the paste, you should obtain something like this.
Not the coolest thing to look at, but wait until the end!

Step 5: Add the Liquid Concealer

sparkleoflight sparkle of light instagram blog diy eyeliner eyeliners revamp cream greend angled  aqua pigments
Add this to make it smoother and sliding. Not too much or won’t stay put and will transfer on the crease.
It is not how I expected it. It’s too dry, it’s too liquid or too light! What can I do? How can I balance?
Keep in mind that we are not working with matching creamy concealers, so colours will result always a shade lighter, but you can fix it by adding colour or by setting the eyeliner with the matching shade. It works best with bright shadows.
Add pigment, if you want it brighter and less creamy.
Add the liquid concealer, if you want it more sliding.
Add the creamy concealer to give consistency.
Experiment!

Step 6: You’re Done!

sparkleoflight sparkle of light instagram blog diy eyeliner eyeliners revamp cream green my aqua pigments
Set it with the matching powder for a brighter and longlasting result, if you want to.
On me, it’s not necessary because it doesn’t transfer and it’s longlasting.

Step 7: Put the leftovers in a Jar or in a Palette

Here I’m using a Sephora jar. I use them a lot and they maintain really creamy. I recommend to not make a lot of product. It will dry in a week. Make the amount that you need. If some product remains, put it into the jar, but, if it doesn’t, it’s okay, maybe better!
You can always do it in two minutes when you need it and will work amazingly!

It’s not that good looking on that plastic mini plate but will carry the work without problems.

That’s what mine looks like:

sparkleoflight sparkle of light instagram blog diy eyeliner eyeliners result my own revamp cream pigments

It’s looks like a teal. In real life it’s greener.

On me, it lasts until I remove my make up and doesn’t transfer. It has a good pigmentation too.

And you’re done, cheap and quick! Have fun! Tag me on Instagram, if you do this and if you want to.

A look using this product will be up soon on my Instagram! Check me at www.instagram.com/sparkleoflight!

Follow me @ www.instagram.com/sparkleoflight

Leave a Reply

